Home > Linux > Linux – a post about nothing

Linux – a post about nothing

Warning: This post is not healthy for penguins

As I told you I have to learn few new things at my new job, one of them is Linux.
Today I took the first step, installing Red Hat 5.1 Server. After a simple installation I wanted to configure the network settings:
IP address, subnet mask, default gateway and DNS server – the basic network interface parameters.

Using the local console (SSH will only be available with a valid IP) and some help from nixCraft and UnixGuide I found it easier than expected and very Windows like 🙂

So, the first thing I did is a typo error, after all it is a Windows world:

Fixing the typo, it looked better:

Even the output is Cisco like – both in the format and content 🙂
Next, I had to change the IP, look how simple it is:

At this point I had the correct settings, I could ping out but I couldn’t SSH in or connect with my application. Like in Windows servers, the firewall was the reason and had to be disabled. Once again a Windows driven typo:

Everything was working at this point but I wanted to check how close it is to the commands I know. This is just one example of a similar command:

So similar to Windows, so what is the big fuss out there???

  1. July 28, 2010 at 8:51 am

    I think you’re discovering history in reverse order… Cisco and Windows got all that stuff from Unix 😉

    Of course, Windows doesn’t have an /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 where the settings go 😉

    Sean

    • July 28, 2010 at 7:32 pm

      I agree and I guess its a popular path these days…
      anyway, it is still amazing that so many years later, so many fights and at the end of the day they all use the same method, same commands and as some would say, MS always take the good parts from others and make it better

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

