Home > LAB, Study Method > Home Lab

Home Lab

Amazing as it sound it’s been a month since I started my new job and while I learn new technologies and deepen my knowledge, my Cisco knowledge is not being used (yet?). I’m happy and know I’m in a good place and did the right move. BUT (every good story have one) since I enjoy Ciscoing and want to keep my skills at a good level, I’ll try spending few hours every weekend on my new home lab.

Unlike the lab I used for my CCNP exam, this is a smaller basic lab built of the following:

1. ITDswitch @ VLAN1 192.168.1.100
cisco WS-C2924-XL
using IOS ™ C2900XL Software (C2900XL-C3H2S-M), Version 12.0(5.3)WC(1)

2. ITDualism1 @ 192.168.1.101
cisco 2621
using IOS ™ C2600 Software (C2600-IK9S-M), Version 12.2(6)

3. ITDualism2 @ 192.168.1.102
cisco 2611
using IOS ™ C2600 Software (C2600-I-M), Version 12.2(46a)

4. ITDualism3 @ 192.168.1.103
cisco 2611
using IOS ™ C2600 Software (C2600-I-M), Version 12.3(26)
This is the router I mentioned in my last post. This router keep crashing and will get its own troubleshooting post when I’ll have the time and spirit.

The switch and routers will join my “production” home network. I’m using my Netgear wireless router as default gateway and Internet access point. In addition I have a PC, 2 laptops, 2 iPhones and a Wii console – all of which I’ll use to test\play\drive my wife nuts 😉

As I said in my opener, the goal here is to practice my skill and keep the rust away. I do not have tons of time for this as I work longer hours and spend additional time going over work related materials at night (plus the fact that my brain is blasted at work, it’s a matter of time but I’ll get used to being busy and thinking ALL day).

Feel free to through in lab ideas and let me know if you’re interested in non-networking topics (I have some interesting production stories) as an extra. Reading the comments and personal messages I get the feeling most of you are into networking, so this is the time for the rest of you to raise your voices 🙂

  1. Rakesh
    July 10, 2010 at 8:29 am

    Real time troubleshooting techniques will definitely help us…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

