Home > Production Story > 40-year-old virus

40-year-old virus

No, I’m still alive and though disappeared from your mailbox or RSS feed, everything is good on my end. I was busy with few personal issues and hope to get back on track in few days.

Today I had to upgrade my anti-virus server. Using ESET’s NOD32 for years I found these upgrades to be easy, straight forward and short. This specific version upgrade from 3.x to 4.x add the ability to restore quarantined files directly from the management console (and few more major changes), sweet joy!

As expected the upgrade was easy and I had no issues but I did find something interesting when the installation completed:

Yes, on a brand new clean installation that had no previous data, a 40-year-old quarantined file show on the list…

The source computer is my (Trend Micro IMSS) spam filter.
This is the properties screen:

Hope you all have a good weekend!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

