Home > CCNP, My Project, ONT > ONT – the last piece

ONT – the last piece

Earlier this year I started chasing my 6 exams \ 2 titles in one year challenge.
After completing ISCW and BSCI I am closer to my end goal and it feels good.

Avaya IP Phone

Today I’m doing the first step toward the last piece of my CCNP puzzle, ONT studies. Unlike the other three exams which included materials I’m familiar with from work, ONT’s Voice and QoS concepts are a new territory. My work environment include Avaya equipment (is it okay to mention this name on a Cisco post?) but other than some basic tasks I do not manage it so that does not count.

My plan is watching Jeremy Cioara’s CBT Nuggets video and hopefully by the time I complete the series it will have a different feeling. I trust Jeremy’s enthusiasm to do the job as he did so well before.

Only 138 left to complete my CCNP (but I think I won’t need them ;))

  1. Binaryops
    March 16, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    How was the iscw exam and did u feel it was easier than bsci?

    • March 16, 2010 at 1:12 pm

      Binaryops,

      surprisingly I did better on the BSCI than ISCW but I do think ISCW is not as big\hard\difficult as the BSCI. for me there where 2 major differences:
      1. I’m working with many of the ISCW topics so I didn’t have to learn so many new topics.
      2. BSCI has more major topics and so many details. there are more labs and lab scenarios, more numbers to memorize and more theory.

      good luck with your studies!

  2. March 16, 2010 at 9:38 am

    I’ll use this opportunity to bash the Cisco Press book. I (and several others I know) used the CP book to prepare for the test, and we all failed due to lack of test topics in the book. You’re definitely doing the right thing in getting additional materials to study.

    Good luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

