Home > CCNP, ISCW, My Project > ISCW – PASS

ISCW – PASS

Just completed my exam, wasn’t easy but I passed 🙂

I’ve taken my previous Cisco exams not only in the same center but in the same room. Arriving the scene this morning I noticed that this room has only one available computer and asked if it is possible to take my exam in there. The reply was NO, the free computer was broken and I had to use a different room. This was a bad start…

The next step was walking in, taking my sit and running the practice pre-exam test. It felt weird, the chair was not so comfortable, the desk was a bit too low for my legs, specially when pulling the keyboard (required for configurations) and the room experience felt uncomfortable. The other room, the good room has 4 computers lined on one wall. The new room had 2 lines of 4 computers each (facing the wall) so you have people sitting behind you and it is annoying.
I know it’s all in my head but when you get the bad room you’re looking for every excuse to hate it!

Then came the exam. As you know Cisco’s Non-Disclosure Agreement (NDA) prohibit sharing thoughts on the content so I’ll do it carefully within the allowed boundaries.
My take on these exams is that the multiple questions should only take 10-15 seconds each. Either you know it or not. But the exam had more scenarios than I expected which took much of my time and at some point I’ve started feeling the time pressure (though at the end I had 10 spare minutes).
Switching between the screens, Topology, Scenario, Questions sometimes SDM or Console (or few of them) – it does take time and since they use an old 17″ monitors you get small screen space that cannot show everything and make you flip forth and back while wasting your time.

Through the last 20 minutes I was busy with exam retake scheduling thoughts, when will I retake and how am I going to change my study method. I did not have a good feeling so when I finished the exam and found out I’ve passed it was  not happiness but surprised relief that took over.

Breaking down the exam performance by topics (not sure if I’m allowed to discuss it – NDA again) I see what I would have expected with higher percentage at the more familiar topics and lower on the new materials (the only surprise was MPLS with kick ass performance!)
I think my ISCW study notes where good and helped me pass the exam and obviously the lab is very important.

The only draw back of passing the exam is the next one…
To complete my challenge on time with 181 days left for the current CCNP track, I can not afford more than one evening off (maybe two) before I start working on the next exam.

My next decision is BSCI or ROUTE, I’ll have to read both blue prints and decide in a day or two but first I have a hot date with my lovely and very supporting wife tonight 😉

  1. Rofi Neron
    February 8, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    @daniel
    congrats to you too 🙂
    is BCMSN your last exam?

    • daniel
      February 8, 2010 at 12:58 pm

      Hello and thanks,it’s not the last, actually…ISCW was my first (after ICND2 earlier this year)…I’m also on a quest, like you…my plan is BCMSN then ONT then BSCI, I do switching and security often, this is the reason for planning that way.

  2. daniel
    February 8, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    Congrats! I passed today (yeah, the ISCW month for all of us). On the road to the exam center I wondered if I’ll have same distractions in the exam room (that can so easy ruin your efforts).But it went fine. For me, BCMSN is next.

  3. February 3, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Congrats Rofi! I have my ISCW scheduled for February 8. I’ve already completed BSCI and BCMSN and I plan to get done with the remaining two by the end of February. Thanks for sharing your journey to CCNP with us. 🙂

    Best of luck!

    Omer

    • Rofi Neron
      February 3, 2010 at 5:49 pm

      looks like Feb is very popular with ISCW 😉
      good luck to both of you

  4. Jason
    February 2, 2010 at 10:48 am

    Congratulations! I have my ISCW scheduled for February 12. Thanks for sharing your notes; I will use them as part of my review process. After this one is done I only have ONT left!

  5. February 2, 2010 at 9:41 am

    Congrats, my friend! Keep up the good work.

  6. Rob Flora
    February 1, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    Congrats!!!

    Hoping to take it in the next week or so.

    • Rofi Neron
      February 2, 2010 at 9:47 am

      lat me know if you have questions, maybe I can help
      and good luck!

  7. February 1, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    Congrats Buddy!
    You will find a lot of fun with Bsci/route !

  8. wifi
    February 1, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    Congruts!!!
    I am so proud of you, and now I also know what it feels….
    xo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

