Home > CCNP, ISCW, Study Materials, Study Method > ISCW Study Notes

ISCW Study Notes

How do you know that you spend too much time with your books?

I was walking from work to the train on 42nd between 5th and 6th Ave (if it is not obvious, I’m talking about Manhattan) and like many other days a group of people, I would say late teens to early twenties tried to catch my attention for a short conversation. They work for non-profits like Greenpeace and try to interest you with saving the world – donate some money theme. Don’t get me wrong here, when I see a good cause in which I believe I would open my heart and pull my wallet (though today’s trend is texting) but I would never give my Credit Card details to a bunch of strangers in the middle of the street!

Going back to my question, I looked at one guy who stopped and pulled his CC and the only thing I could think of was Intrusion Prevention. Yes, it is kind of geeky but this guy had no firewall on his wallet and I suspect his next statement would be his IDS but like a good IDS it would be too late to prevent the damage!

Things only got worse when I got to the station and pulled my ISCW notes. Not only it was geeky but my HaniDoku app felt betrayed (sad but true…)

I’m attaching my rough study notes file, the first draft which I wrote while watching the videos and reading the book. As I already mentioned in my First week summary, my method was typing notes while watching the CBT Nuggets video and then adding notes while reading the CCNP ISCW Official Exam Certification Guide.

I plan spending few days this weekend going over the book and updating the notes as I have a better picture of the exam and the labs requirements. I’ll update the file under ISCW page by the end of the weekend.

I could also use your help. Download the file, go over my notes and if you think I’m wrong, missed something or need to add information on certain topics, comment here or email me and I’ll use your comments on the revised version.

update (Jan 25 2010) – check my revised Study Notes

  1. Petey
    January 26, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    After particularly long days in front of the computer…I begin to reflexively think “Ctrl-Z” immediately after spilling coffee on myself on the subway, or stepping in the occasional pile of steaming dog $hit.

  2. Rofi Neron
    January 26, 2010 at 10:45 am

    Jon emailed me about the pppoe config in the study notes.
    I had a typo:
    dialer pool # -> on the dialer interface
    and
    pppoe-client dial-pool # -> on the Fastethernet interface
    should use the same number

    thanks Jon!

  3. rOi onRen
    January 21, 2010 at 7:59 am

    nice writing!

  4. Zamir Oren
    January 21, 2010 at 1:15 am

    when you study too much you reach the stage when every item from your daily activity looks like a part of the prep material. It’s a good sign in my opinion, as it takes you to a higher level in your mental state of mind.

  5. wifi
    January 21, 2010 at 12:54 am

    loved your post

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

