Home > Other Exams > CISSP Video Mentor – book review

CISSP Video Mentor – book review

CISSP has nothing to do with Cisco or Microsoft certifications, It is a totally separate world. Saying that, It covers topics that both worlds deal with as security is major for both vendors (and the entire industry).

CISSP Video Mentor by Pearson

I’ve received the CISSP Video mentor kit from Pearson for evaluation. It is a Shon Harris production and the woman is a legend. Great start.

The booklet that come with the video is great, a summary of all the main concepts and definitions. If you study for the exam its a great last-minute review and if you’re like me – just picking to the world of security, it is exactly what you need. Not too heavy, not too light.

The videos are very good. I’m familiar with some of the concepts and some where new but at all time I felt that I learn something new and understand it. Shon and her co-instructors that took over at few labs and videos did a great job. Both the presentations and Labs are high level training materials.

One more look at the labs. I’m a PC and windows was my idea. I know nothing about Unix (or was it Linux) but even those Linux-based labs where clear. I won’t be able to take a Linux box and run the same commands but I did understand the concepts. Obviously I found the windows-based labs more familiar but the concept is the main purpose when watching this type of video.

Overall I was very happy with this kit and highly recommend it if you study for the CISSP exam or if you just want to get a wider understanding on security concepts.

Check all my reviews here

  1. Rob Flora
    March 3, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    Rofi.. How do you get all the evaluation stuff from Pearson?

    • March 3, 2010 at 9:22 pm

      Rob,
      someone from Pearson contacted me after she read my blog and offered me to evaluate their new products.
      Rofi

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

